World Jollof Day – Mid Week Jollof Recipe

IMG_8968
Voila – Enjoy your jollof

Apparently it’s World Jollof Day! I could have missed it if I didn’t catch up on bellanaija and sisiyemmie – thanks guys!

I also saw that people are sharing their Jollof rice recipes all over the net so here’s my mid week Jollof – perfect for after work when only Jollof rice will do without the over-sabi of a Sunday lunch.

I tend to serve this with any leftover meats I have so I don’t have to stress about what to serve it with. You might also want to grab some sweet plantain or vegetables and salad to have on the side for all you #fitfam folks.

Anyway, enough chatter, here’s the recipe…

Where I shopped:

Various – My cupboard, Sainsbury’s & African food stores

*You can get all the ingredients at a supermarket*

What I used:

  • 2 x cups white rice – I used basmati.
  • Vegetable oil
  • 1 x small onion
  • Fresh chilli – I used 3 x green birds eye chilli’s but any other hot chilli will do
  • Tomato puree
  • Thyme – I used fresh, but dried also works
  • 2 x teaspoons curry powder – My fave is by Lion
  • Seasoning cubes
  • Salt
  • Water

What I did:

  1. Add some vegetable oil to a medium sized cooking pot (enough to cover the base of the pot) and set the heat to medium. Chop your chilli’s and onion while the oil is getting hot.
  2. Add your chopped onion and chilli mix to the oil and fry for a few mins till soft  – don’t let the mix get burnt.
  3. Add some tomato puree to the mix and fry for about 10 mins or so.
  4. Reduce the heat to a low heat and rinse your rice in cool water.
  5. Add the curry powder, thyme, salt and seasoning cubes and mix well. Let the mix simmer for 10 more minutes.  The mix should taste ‘concentrated’ so that the rice is well seasoned. Add a little water if required.
  6. Add your washed rice and top up the mixture with some water – not too much else the rice will be soggy – eww!
  7. Mix well and cover the pot. Increase the heat to a medium level and let the mix simmer until cooked.
  8. Check the rice for softness – Add water if required.
  9. Once cooked, use a fork to fluff the rice and cover again to allow the steam to cook the rice some more.
  10. Serve… I just wanted to end on no. 10… lol

Don’t forget to let me know how this recipe worked for you in the comments section  if you’ve tried it out : )

Atinsy P

2 Comments Add yours

  1. annemmeje says:

    Keep up the good work. It’s great to see many blogs sharing the awesomeness of jollof rice.

    Like

    1. atinsy says:

      Thanks annemmeje!

      Like

Leave a Reply

