Corned Beef Stew

YamStew13“… Is there more corned beef stew?”

When you hear those words, you know you’ve managed to turn something so boring into something so yummy!

As it was the August Bank holiday, I decided to revisit as old favourite of mine – Corned Beef Stew. This was one of the first dishes I learnt how to make from an aunt of mine when I moved over.  What I love about it is it’s very simple to make, cheap and absolutely delicious. As a kid, I turned my nose up at the corned beef sandwiches my mum would make me as a packed lunch so I wasn’t so keen when my aunt served this up.

But when I tasted the sauce… oh lawdy lawdy was I hooked! I had to learn how to make this dish so here is my version…

Where I shopped:

You can get all the ingredients from your supermarket and local store too.

What I bought:

  • 3 x tablespoons vegetable oil.
  • 2 x tablespoons palm oil – I used Nigerian palm oil.
  • Half a small onion – cut into strips.
  • Half medium scotch bonnet pepper – cut into small pieces.
  • 1 clove garlic – cut into small pieces.
  • 1 x small bell pepper – cut into small pieces.
  • 2 x fresh tomatoes – cut into small pieces.
  • 1 – 2 x tablespoon tomato puree.
  • Half tablespoon powdered ginger – You can use fresh if you have. I didn’t at the time.
  • Half tablespoon dried thyme – You can use fresh if you have. I didn’t at the time.
  • 1 x Seasoning cube.
  • 1 x 340g tin of Corned Beef – cut the beef into large cubes.
  • Water.

What I did:

  1. Using a sauté or stir frying pan, heat up the vegetable oil and palm oil on a low to medium heat. Once it’s hot, add the onion, scotch bonnet pepper, garlic and bell pepper to the oil mixture and fry for about 3 – 5mins. You want to stir regularly to prevent the mix from burning.YamStew1
  2. Now add the fresh tomatoes to the mix. This may have a bit of water in it, so you want to cook this till the mix get’s a little dry. It may take another 5 mins or so, just keep stirring to prevent burning.YamStew3
  3. Once most of the water has evaporated, add your tomato puree. Start with 1 tablespoon and mix. If you want the mix to be thicker, you can add another. Continue to stir fry for a further 5 mins.YamStew4
  4. It’s now time to add your dried ginger and thyme including the seasoning cube. Mix well and let this cook for 1 min.YamStew5
  5. Drop the corned beef cubes into the pepper and spice mix gently. This will prevent early breakage of the corned beef. Tease the mixture, add a little water then cover with the lid of the pot and reduce the heat to simmer for 10 minutes. Stir slowly to prevent burning.YamStew6YamStew7

I served mine with some boiled Puna Yam slices, simple ‘fried egg’ and a side salad . Just in case you were wondering – this dish did not last too long.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Don’t forget to leave a comment if you’ve tried this recipe to let me know how it al went. And more importantly… did ‘they’ ask for more?

…until next week! Have a fab week!

Atinsy P 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This is what I need in my life right now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Atinsy says:

      Ha ha, that’s exactly how I felt when I thought about making this.

      Like

Leave a Reply

