Easy Banana Loaf

BananaBread1

I have had some epic cake fails in my time and all will be revealed in good time, but this simple recipe never fails me. I don’t consider myself good at baking, but one day, I’ll get there!

I’d love to make this with some Nigerian bananas when next I go home as I miss them so! They just have a very different taste to the ones I get here. My early memory of this cake was in the States with another aunt. When she made this cake, she added onions – what a twist! It still tasted fab, but ever since I started making mine, I’ve kept it pretty simple. I might try the onion recipe sometime, but for now, here how I made this easy-peasy, delightful and moreish banana loaf…

Where I Shopped:

My local supermarket.

What I used:

Dry Mix:

  • 285g plain flour.
  • 1 x tsp bicarbonate of soda.
  • ½ x tsp salt.

Wet Mix:

  • 110g butter – plus extra for your tin.
  • 200g granulated sugar – caster sugar is best, but I didn’t have any this time.
  • 2 free-range eggs.
  • 3-4 ripe bananas – Mashed into lumpy bits.
  • 85ml Buttermilk (If you don’t have this, mix 85ml milk with 1½ x tsp lemon juice)
  • 1 x tsp vanilla extract – Use a good brand, it makes such a difference!

Optional:

  • Walnuts – a handful should do.

What I did:

  1. First of all, turn the heat up in the oven – 180C/350F/Gas Mark 4 should do the trick. Then grease your loaf tin and set aside. I used a loaf tin with these specifications: H7xW23x13cm but in all honesty, your bug standard loaf tin from a store should do.
  2. Create your ‘Dry Mix’ by sifting the flour, bicarbonate of soda and salt into a mixing bowl – set aside.
  3. In a separate bowl, create your ‘Wet Mix’ by mixing the butter and sugar together. Mix until very light, then add the eggs, banana mash, buttermilk and vanilla extract. Mix these too until well combined.
  4. Fold your dry mix into the wet mix and pour the mixture into your greased tin. This is where I added my walnuts at the top of the cake only.
  5. Bake for ~ 1 hour. Check from ~45 mins into baking by inserting a knife into the middle of the cake. It should come out ‘dry’ without any cake mix sticking to it. (If you find the middle of your loaf is still runny, cover the top with some foil paper and return to the oven. This will prevent the top of the loaf from burning while ensuring the middle of the loaf cooks through.)
  6. Once done, remove from the oven and cool in the tin for ~ 10-15 mins, then turn out unto a rack to cool completely.
  7. I served mine with some green tea – plain and simple.

BananaBread2

If you’ve tried this, do let me know how you get on and don’t forget to subscribe 🙂

For now, have a fab rest of the weekend!

Atinsy P x

Leave a Reply

