Juicy Pork Chops

My earliest memory of pork was eating a full english or Naija-fied english breakfast full of streaky bacon (my mum’s favourite), sausages  with scrambled eggs and toast. I also remember eating pork stew back in Ogun state – a dish I absolutely hated! It was so fatty and although my piece of pork was huge, it was full of fat and I wasn’t so keen. I’m going to bring back that stew dish with a twist as I’m keen to remove that fatty memory I have ha ha.

Fast forward to now though, I absolutely love pork meat! I’m still not keen on fatty parts which is why I go for the pork chops and other leaner cuts. They are easy to cook, you can remove the rind if you wish and it takes up flavour so well!.

To make this dish, you’ll need:

  • 2 Pork chops
  • Fresh Mixed roasting herbs: Thyme, Oregano and Rosemary
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Vegetables to serve
  1. In a large bowl, mix 1 tablespoon of olive oil with fresh thyme, rosemary, oregano, 1 clove of garlic, salt & black pepper.

pork-chops-veg002

2. Rub your pork chops with the herbs and oil then leave in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

pork-chops-veg007

3. Heat a pan and fry your chops for ~10 minutes on each side (these were thick chops). Reduce the time if you have thinner chops. Flip once and let the meat cook through. PLEASE ensure your pork is cooked through. No red meat here people! 🙂

pork-chops-veg014

4. Serve with gravy and vegetables of your choice. I went for broccoli and carrots.

pork-chops-veg024

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Atinsy says:

      Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

