African Inspired Guinea Fowl Stew

Hello! it’s been a minute right?! Is it too late to say “Happy New year”? I think so, but I’ll say it anyway… HAPPY NEW YEAR … I hope you’re having a fab year so far?

I don’t know what’s come over me, but over the last few weeks, I have found myself watching a lot of grandmas on youTube making curries in India. It all started when I was trying to find guinea fowl recipes online. Most of what I found were high end European style recipes which all looked yummy, but didn’t quite inspire me.

I randomly clicked on a YouTube video of a granny cooking a guinea fowl and I got hooked. I have to warn you though – those videos are quite graphic as it starts off with a live bird and ends up with a cooked bird if you know what I mean, so “watcher beware!” lol

I posted this dish on my instagram page (@international.native) a week ago and some people have asked me just how I made it, so here goes…

P.S. Let me know how you get on with the recipe xx

African Inspired Guinea Fowl Stew

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: Not too hard
  • Print

A vibrant, tasty, African-inspired Guinea Fowl recipe perfect with rice or yam pottage.

Ingredients

  • 1 Guinea Fowl, cut into pieces.
  • Spices (All 1/2 teaspoon): fine black pepper, dried thyme, chilli powder stock, ginger powder, garlic powder, onion powder.
  • 2 stock cube (2nd cube is optional)
  • 1 medium onion – sliced
  • 1 tin of chopped plum tomatoes
  • 1 scotch bonnet pepper, chopped into small pieces
  • 1 small red bell pepper, chopped into small pieces
  • vegetable oil
  • Coriander and spring onion to garnish

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, toss together the guinea fowl pieces with the spices and 1 stock cube. Cover the bowl and leave in the fridge to marinade for 30 minutes.If you can prep this a few hours before cooking that great too, but you want to marinade for about 30 minutes minimum.
  2. When you are ready to cook, heat some oil (medium heat) in a wide base non-stick pan and add the some of the onions. The onions should be fried for about 3 minutes until soft but not burnt – just enough to deodorise the oil. Take out the onions and set aside for later use.img_3327
  3. Lower the heat in the pan and they add the seasoned guinea fowl pieces to the oil to shallow fry. Cover the pot and let the fowl cook/fry through for about 10 minutes on each side. Turn the pieces of guinea fowl round after 10 minutes on each side to ensure it is well cooked. Please be careful – the oil can be rather stroppy when you do this. img_3328img_3332
  4. Once the guinea fowl is cooked through (please check), take out of the oil and set aside. In the same pot, add the rest of the sliced onions, your chopped bell peppers, tomatoes and scotch bonnet and cook for 10 minutes. After this time, add the pre-cooked onions and cook for 5 more minutes. Season the mixture with another stock cube (optional), mix well then add the pieces of pre-cooked guinea fowl.img_3333
  5. Reduce the heat and cover the pot with it’s lid. Let the dish simmer for 5 minutes. Serve once ready.img_3374
  6. Check out my previous post – Asaro… This African inspired Guinea Fowl recipe goes so well with asaro or rice.

Leave a Reply

